My Life, Travel, Uncategorized

Heaven of The East: Only 19 Hours in Saparua Island Part 2

This post is the continuation of my previous trip report to Ambon that I posted last week.

IMG_0746

The sunshine had appeared a little high and bright when I was awakened by my phone alarm at 6.00 AM local time. I looked out to the window, the dawn had started to break as the orange lights shed through the clouds.

“It’s time for us to get ready,” I told my friends who were also awakened from their sleep and packing their stuff for our 1 night getaway to Saparua.

IMG_0749

We packed sufficient clothes and amenities for our less than 24 hours stay in Saparua, an island which is located in the East beneath Seram Island.

Travelers who come to Ambon must demand a side tour, which means a side tour to let them seeing another perspective of the Moluccas archipelago through island hopping.

You don’t need to worry when you come to Ambon, you are even already satisfied with the beauty of its nature and the Ambonese hospitality. The capital city of the Moluccas offers remarkable excitement and adventure. But to those who expect to see more nature, and testify their adventurous side, then they should go to other islands – especially to those rural islands.

Our initial plan to Saparua was supposedly took place from Sunday until Monday, but unfortunately the plan had to be cancelled due to transfer boat unavailability. In Moluccas, especially in Saparua whereby most of the residence are Christians, Sunday is their authentic ‘Sabbath’. People do not work nor travel during that day so do not wonder that most of restaurants, shops and even transportation services are not in service on Sunday.

I previously called the hotel that we booked earlier, Mahu Lodge (www.mahulodge.com) and informed them that there wasn’t any boat hence we decided to change the plan onto the following day. We really thank god that the owner didn’t mind to change the date for us. We also asked Pak Paul, the owner of Mahu Lodge to assist in providing a car that would pick us up from Haria harbor, and he accepted our request.

Pak Parjan and Pak Ismet were not going with us that day. We had asked them not to pick us up as we’d rather going to Tulehu using the hotel’s cab. Kiky, our taxi driver had been waiting for us at the lobby. After taking shower and having quick breakfast we met him at the lobby.

Selamat Pagi Pak Danang, I’m Kiky your driver for today!” he greeted me with a big winning smile.

Selamat Pagi Pak!” I wondered how could he have known my name.

The taxi means a rental car here in Ambon. It’s not like the usual taxi you saw in many major big cities. The car has no brand at all and without meter. The usual fare they’d give as the flag down is about IDR 150.000 (USD 12) one-way. We have no stand point at all to bargain as everything in Ambon is fixed price, and yet we couldn’t imagine how far it was the harbor with our hotel.

Pak Kiky then walked us to the car that he parked at the drop-off area. “Let me take all your belongings,” he said nicely, grabbing 3 of our duffle bags with his two hands.

“The journey to Tulehu would take for approximately 30 minutes, not far,” he said as he sat on the driver seat and turning the car’s ignition on and he also played a full playlist of Ambonese song from his tape.

IMG_0751

Throughout the journey , we chatted with Pak Kiky, another person whom we met in Ambon. He seemed quiet nice, chatty and helpful. Although his voice sounded a bit firmer than a typical Javanese like me, but he wasn’t necessarily meant to be angry. It was just a way how he expressed his opinion, and yet, he was often heard humming to the song. Another casual treat in Ambon, a free singing performance in every corner of the street!

We talked about how could most Ambonese sing very well. He giggled when we asked that question. He said it was a blessing that each Ambonese has – that they are naturally created with a unique vocal cords. Pak Kiky told me his son also sings like he does, to our surprise his son was one of Indonesian Idol top 20’s contestants. He failed to make to the Top 10 but he’s still making it as his main career. Kiky also said he had several experience to be the personal driver of Indonesia’s famous starts, such as Glenn Fredly, Anang, or even Daniel Sahuleika during their visits in Ambon.

We were completely amazed to his story, but the story must end when we reached Tulehu harbor. The harbor apparently wasn’t that far from the hotel as we reached punctually of what time Kiky had expected – 08.00 AM. Kiky then helped us with our bags, and accompanied us to the ticket counter.

IMG_0756

Tulehu harbor is the main gateway to Ambon, as most local boats depart from and arrive at this harbor.

“It’s Monday, and I believe you must get used to the crowd, don’t you?” he said.

“Well, this isn’t pretty bad.” I said. The sun was glaring very bright and the temperature was somewhat too hot for my grumpiness tolerance.

IMG_0754But to be honest, the natural lighting made me willing to keep taking pictures.

IMG_0752

IMG_0757

We were standing in line to buy the tickets, then we decided to go with VVIP class which cost IDR 125.000 (USD 11) one way to Saparua. We completely had no idea what the boat was like, I figured there was a big ship parking at the jetty which I thought was our boat, but turned out I was wrong.

“The ship hasn’t arrived yet, so please wait inside,” the ticket agent said.

We were informed that the boat would depart on-time and we would be notified when we’re ready for boarding. Pak Kiky bid good-bye to us and wished us had a pleasant trip to Saparua. We still had one hour to kill, and we decided to wait inside the waiting room.

The waiting room wasn’t that packed and we met some people whom we assumed also waited for the boat to Saparua. We met some well- Food sellers, newspaper boys, until porters were all around the building. What surprised me not only adults but kids were also ‘working’ around here, offering their helps to take our bags to the boat.

The 12 year old boy who worked part time as a porter at Tulehu harbor approached me, sitting next to myself and babbling in some Ambonese accent. It took me sometime to mind-digest what he was saying.

“What are you doing around here kiddo?”

“I’m working part time as porter besides school,” the boy said.

“Aren’t you supposed at school?” I wondered.

“It’s a holiday today,” he said shyly. At first I thought this kid was a bit special as he seemed to look a bit hyperactive, but subsequently I understood that this kid was just being shy talking to strangers. I just remembered that it was a public holiday date for the day of silence.

“What grade are you?” I asked

“Grade 8” he said smiling.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

“I want to become a policeman,” he said. “Oh that’s great, you should study hard and reach your dream,” I said.

I unzipped my bag and handed a small carton of chocolate Frisian Flag which I wanted to give him. The boy was politely rejecting my offer, and he said “I don’t want anything. Thank you”

I was completely surprised that he refused my offering. “Why? I thought we all love milk,”

“No I don’t want that..” he shrugged his head. I approached my hand to him, but he stood up and ran a little away from me.

“What do you want then?” I asked, laughing. “I want to help you bringing your bags to the boat. Then I will deserve for money,” he said.

I was completely surprised how could this 12 year old boy could’ve said something like that.

“But I can help myself with bag, It’s light” I politely refused his offer.

“Okay that’s fine with me. I will only receive money from what I deserve, which is helping guests with their bags,”

From what he told, I quiet understood that this young boy only wanted money, but he wanted money not from begging but the money which he deserved by working himself. He made me learn something about this city, I don’t mean to stereotype but most of people here have a real big pride, they don’t chase you to buy their products once you say no.

IMG_0759

Ambon-Haruku-SaparuaSource: www.starfish.ch

At 08:30 am our boat looked like had arrived at the jetty. Many people who aimed for Saparua began to walk out the Terminal and proceeded to the pier, including us. It’s an open air pier whereby the sun light was glaring towards us and we were just too shocked to see how the boat was literally packed by people from the first boat ride. It was somewhat an extraordinary thing to see, I was completely wondering how could the boat still floating since the boat was overcapacity. There was even a man bringing his motorcycle at the forward deck and hundreds of people sitting outside the cabin.

IMG_0767

I bit my lips, creating a sign of wary. My other friends were also frowning towards what they saw. “Are we gonna be okay?” I murmured. “Hopefully, yes.” One of them said.

We couldn’t instantly boarding the ship as we had to wait until the rest of the passengers inside disembarked. The process took around 30-40 minutes and we were on the pier standing. The heat was burning as hell. We were trying to look at a bright side, that we will be going for snorkeling later. We saw a few foreigners were disembarking from the ship, I notice they were from Netherlands, speaking dutch. I came to them, asking whether the boat was safe enough or not. They laughed. “Oh it was a flawless ride, don’t worry.”

IMG_0768

Once everyone disembarked, we were permitted to board. The VIP passengers were let to board first to the top cabin. The boat crews helped us to board the boat, there was no stairs only firmly nailed board which they presumed is strong enough to handle the weight of approximately 200 or even more passengers.

IMG_0772The cabin

IMG_0857What is the difference between VIP class and Economy Class? The VIP class is at the top deck while economy class is located at the bottom deck. However, your economy class ticket can be used to sit anywhere except VIP cabin section. Where else? The observation deck near VIP class, on top of the forward deck, or even on the roof deck.

The journey to Saparua would take for 1 hour. Once we entered the VIP class cabin, I thanked god it’s a full comfort. Fully air-conditioned, the seat was likely taken from the old plane’s business class cushions spacious legroom and a (not working) television. It’s a free seat anyhoo! not assigned on the ticket you bought. So just make sure you sit near your friends. It was actually my first speed boat ride after years. To reduce my paranoid, I tried to locate where the life vest were located, and how far my seat was to the emergency exits.

The ship departed on-time. The turbine engines sound were heard from the cabin, and we sped at a maximum speed. My friends fell asleep throughout the journey, and I decided to wander around the cabin. The observation deck was packed by many people that time, and I walked out to check what it felt like to be there. Wow, the view was apparently much better from there!. We could see the Banda Sea widely, and I noticed there was a small stair leading to the roof deck.

IMG_0869

IMG_0861

“Be careful, you could fall,” a guy reminded me.

After compromising with myself, I tried to climb the stairs, just hoping I could get good balance. To my surprise, there was a group of young men sitting on the roof. I dared myself to further climb up and walked on the roof deck. I must admit, the view was even gorgeous from there! The roof deck was supposedly a restricted area but nobody gave a damn to people who sat on top of the roof deck. A group of young men said hello and reminded me to watch every step.

IMG_0874Please do not comment on what I wore, I know it’s supposed to be short sleeve not long sleeve (wardrobe malfunction)

IMG_0915

IMG_0897

The view was completely beautiful, I could see mountains, white sand beaches from the distance and yet with the beautiful cloud lines painted on the sky. From here we could see our direction clearly, after passing Haruku Island, a man pointed me where Haria harbor was. “We still have 20 minutes left, that’s where we’re heading now,”

IMG_0860

15 minutes before arrival, the boat reduced its speed and we arrived on-time at Haria harbor. The passenger load wasn’t as heavy as the returning boat we saw this morning. We disembarked from the ship and met Aldo, the guy that Pak Paul sent to pick us up.

“Hello Pak Danang, Welcome!” Aldo said. We shook hand as a symbol of introduction.

“Welcome to Saparua, Pak! This is where the nature remains,” he said.

IMG_0932

IMG_0933

IMG_0934

Saparua is an island where mostly lived by Christians. Once you get off from the harbor you will see a tall church building which was being renovated. Aldo walked us to where he parked the car, I firstly thought the car would be Avanza or Kijang, but it turned out an old Toyota Kijang which is configured as a public transportation, or Angkot as what Jakartans said. Pak Aldo immediately started the car and drove us to Mahu Lodge, located in Mahu village. The village is located about 20 kms from the harbor and reached within 20 minutes.

The road in Saparua is mostly surrounded by farms and plantation, and the road is already asphalted.

Aldo mentioned that Saparua is the island of singers. Many good Indonesian singers are originally from this island, Ruth Sahanaya was one of the local’s best singer names he mentioned. And yet Saparua island is the last resort for foreign tourists who seek for serenity and hidden underwater surprises in the Moluccas archipelago.

Aldo told us many stories about this island, starting from the touristy potential that the island has to offer, until the recovery story post civil war which occurred during the 1999s. This island also occupied by many tribes in extend of which each of them are divined based on its own unique characteristic.

The only thing that surprised was the no service bar on my phone. They told us that Telkomsel was the only provider that operates here, while 3G connection had just recently available since the following 4 days. Lucky for me, means I could be literally unreachable for the next 19 hours.

The car finally arrived at Mahu Lodge. Pak Paul and his son, Johan greeted us as soon as we alighted from the car. Behind us was apparently a car that brought a group of French divers who were also on the same boat with us.

10247455_10152135203743541_5458236537556507598_nThe front gate of Mahu Lodge (courtesy: Mahu Lodge Facebook page) – I kinda forgot to take a picture of the lodge itself so I took it from their page

IMG_0939Mahu Lodge Garden

IMG_1031Flags hanging as the decoration of the restaurant

Mahu Lodge is a moderate resort that welcomes for anyone who wants to stay in Saparua. The hotel has a quiet big area and has its own jetty. When I browsed about any accommodation in Saparua, Mahu Lodge apparently the first hotel appeared on the list. The price is also very reasonable, Rp. 400.000,- (USD 37) for 1 room with 3 beds per night, including 3 times meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner). However, it is excluding shuttle (drop and pick-up) car fare Rp. 150.000,- (USD 12) one way excluding driver tips), snorkeling price Rp. 150.000,- (USD 12) per pax.

IMG_1034

Apparently they were the group of divers that Pak Paul mentioned us earlier. Pak Paul later showed us the triple room, an old spacious room with 3 beds and the bathroom is very clean.

Pak Paul and Johan reminded us be ready at 12.00 pm as the diver group will depart and we will go along with them. Actually none of us going for diving that time, only snorkeling, but we could share the boat with the diver group. The weather was fantastic that day. The sun was shining and the sky was clear – quiet good for us to enjoy the sea and the swim.

We were led to the jetty where the speed boat parked. We also met the leader of that group French divers who apparently speak Bahasa as he lives in Manado. He’s a very hospitable and chatty guy, his aura represented a very professional diver and so are his colleagues. The brought 3 suitcases full of their diving equipments while us just 3 light duffel bags.

IMG_0942

1397903_10151868577288541_1926457498_oHere is what the boat looks like. I forgot to take the picture of the boat therefore I grabbed this picture from Mahu Lodge’s facebook page (Courtesy: Mahu Lodge Facebook page)

IMG_0944

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

IMG_0950

We left the jetty as soon as we’re ready. There we also met Pak Nus and Johan the 2 diving guides who were also in charge to take care of those three innocent kids from Jakarta who were not professional even at snorkeling (Read: Me and my friends).

IMG_0958

IMG_0965

The boat was speeding fast on the sea. We were sailing to the North east part of Saparua Island, Itawaka which is known as one of the best diving spots. Pak Nus and Johan told us the diver will make first stop at the shallow water area where we could also jump off to enjoy the corals.

IMG_0967

The speed boat journey was very enjoyable. We could get to know Saparua Island much better, seeing many white sand beaches, clearly pristine water and some untouched areas. Johan said that we were coming in a good season, March is the limit of the bestest season of the year here. We were then stopping at a shallow water area, and he said we could start the snorkeling then.

IMG_0968

IMG_0973

My friends looked quiet enthusiastic with this activity although I somehow felt a bit worried of coming down. I can swim but whenever I snorkle, I have tremendous paranoid of seeing sharks or any dangerous sea animals, and that happened when I jumped off the different side of the boat, and I saw a very wide yet clear vision of the sea. I swam almost half round of the boat to reach my friends, because my mind began to say I was chased by a shark.

IMG_0977The water..

IMG_0979

I could not control my breath even using the googles and the fins, I could not believe that these equipment rather imbalanced myself. “Danang, just stay calm,” one of my friend said. Yeah right, the calmer I get, I will float myself.

The boat keeper looked at me quiet strangely, he might’ve thought I couldn’t swim. But until 15 minutes when I finally got calmer I decided to go back to the boat. “You look funny down there, what happened?” the boat keeper asked me.

I simply tried to speak despite my gasping, “I was completely worried of seeing shark, I had a severe paranoid down there,” What I was trying to say was that I am not even a beach type and I don’t snorkel most of the time, as I prefer cities, hills and mountains. I looked down there, and jumped again. Finally, I could find my peace seeing those beautiful corals and group of small tuna fish swimming with me.

The boat keeper later told us they would have to go to pick up the divers, therefore it means they would have to leave us here for a while. I started to panic again as what if this-or-that happened, but the guy said “Don’t worry you’ll be fine.” My friends were asking them to throw our life vests just in case. I shortly had no idea what that was about, but the guy indeed threw the life vests towards us.

The boat was leaving as soon as we got our life vests. I wondered what we would do alone and when the boat would pick us up. My friends were floating with the life vests, looking down to the corals beneath them. Apparently, Johan whom we thought was diving with the French divers, he appeared to the surface and he came to accompany us. He told us just to stay around the area as he was preparing an area for our lunch later.

“The boat will come back here for lunch,” he said.

Since we started to starve, we decided to swim to the shore. Just so you know there isn’t lots of beach where you can lay down in Saparua, usually only a small area of rocky sand beach as this island is mostly surrounded by rain forest or mangrove.

IMG_0998

 

IMG_1008

IMG_1013

IMG_1024

Not long after 20 minutes, the boat headed to our direction. Johan instructed it was lunch time. We were just resting on the shore, while the diver group maintained on the boat, eating their lunch. I grabbed my outdoor carpet which I brought from Jakarta to cover the rocky surface – just to make it more comfortable for us to sit down. The lunch was simple but they still suit our tastebud quiet well: Indomie and fried egg with rice!

IMG_0986

IMG_1018

IMG_1026

When the lunch time was over, we were heading to another point, where we were left again for the diver groups. The diver groups were taken to a deeper sea for them to explore. Pak Nus and Johan asked what we would like to do, my friends and I asked to stop us somewhere we could lie down. Johan suggested us to stay at a beach near the coral islands. The beach was not a white sand beach, still rocky but it has wider area for us to lie down, relaxing under the coconut tree. The place was good, not letting us get in tact with the sun. It was simply the best place to rest, I even fell asleep.

About an hour later, the boat picked us up as the diver group was finished with their activity for the day. They said they would continue to Nusa Laut island the following day. We headed back to Mahu Lodge to continue our next activity. It was still 4 o’clock pm in the afternoon while the weather was still good enough for us to go and see around Saparua. Pak Paul had prepared a car that we could use to drive around Saparua. After having short bath, we were ready for our city tour. Pak Nus accompanied us with Boy the driver.

IMG_1037

We were taken to an old Portuguese port “Duurstede” – known as the oldest Portuguese fort in Moluccas. This is where the Portuguese colony landed in Moluccas for the first time. The fort is located on a high elevation, we must climbed dozens of steps up to the entrance. The fort’s condition itself is half restored, but some destroyed brick walls – which were believed to be the leftover of weapon warehouse and prisons – still remained in there.

Most of this blockhouse part is open-air. The fort was likely designed as a defense blockhouse where the soldiers could observe what were coming towards them. The observation floor also has a gorgeous scenery, overlooking Banda Sea and it has a long white sand shoreline behind the building.

IMG_1035

The view is indeed gorgeous from here and we could see the beautiful surrounding area as well.

IMG_1041This is where the Portuguese first landed in Moluccas

Pak Nus later told us to return to the car, as he would drive us to the white sand beach we saw from the fort earlier. “Let’s go, we should make to every place before catching sunset at Mahu Lodge later,” he said. The beach was not that far away, only less than 5 minutes drive. The beach is very clean as what you’ll always see in the Moluccas, but it’s very quiet there unlike Liang beach or Natsepa.

Pak Nus suddenly ran into one of his loyal client, a foreigner who was coming from Switzerland. We were introduced to him, his name is Bruno. Apparently, there was a few small cottages built near the fort near the beach. A 50-year old guy was sitting under the gazebo, enjoying his afternoon with Gudang Garam and a tall glass of black coffee. We were talking there for 30 minutes and we actually amazed to know how this man had fallen in love to this island just to see the underwater world’s beauty in Nusa Laut island which to him is not comparable to any diving spots in the world he’d been. It was his seventh visit to Saparua and he stayed for 2 weeks with his wife who also loves to dive. I looked at my wrist and watch and it was nearly 5 pm, I remembered that we still had to see a must seen thing in Saparua. The sunset. Pak Paul told us earlier not to miss the sunset that we could watch from the jetty. Therefore, we said goodbye to Bruno, and wished him a pleasant holiday in Saparua until the following week.

We arrived back at the hotel 15 minutes before sunset. I asked Pak Nus to speeded the car and once we stopped the car, I alighted and immediately ran to the jetty. Pak Paul later joined us as we were getting into a casual conversation as we’re waiting for the dusk to end. Just see how beautiful the sky drew itself.

IMG_1043

Pak Paul told me that this jetty was one of his favorite place. He didn’t install any lighting in this area to make it as it would disrupt your vision while enjoying the sunset. And yet, the place is also very quiet there, even less of wave splashing sound. I was completely amazed to the beauty that this place has to offer. From there we could see Seram island, and some mountains from the distance. The sky’s color was kinda mixed between red, yellow, orange, and purple as it reflects on the seawater surface, just like in the paintings.

During the conversation, Pak Paul asked me a question, “How did you know about Mahu Lodge and Saparua? our hotel is only known among the divers?”

“From the internet, we actually was looking for a few alternatives for island hopping, since Ora beach is quiet impossible for us, we were looking for an island closer to Ambon,” I said.

He laughed. “That’s why when you called me at first, I was questioning what made you wanna go here. This place is more famous among the foreigners, less local tourists,”

My friend added, “Yeah, that’s kinda true. Because people in Jakarta are talking about Ora beach, less of them talk about Saparua,”

IMG_1058

I took a deep breath, still felt disbelieve on the view I was seeing that time. The tranquilty had been triggering myself to an emotional state of mind. I thanked my God to create our nature.

IMG_1057

The sunset made almost the end of our holiday as that was our last night in the Moluccas before going back to Ambon early in the dawn. When the sky had turned to dark, Pak Paul asked us to get back to the room as they were preparing for dinner. “Aldo and his wife would treat us with their amazing voice, we’ll sing along tonight!”

Although there were only 6 of us stayed at Mahu Lodge that night, but Pak Paul treated us with keyboard performance during dinner time. We gathered with other guests including Aldo who played the keyboard and his wife who performed her beautiful voice all night long. I was even asked to sing with her, although I felt quiet shy at first but in the end I made it.

IMG_1062

 

Aldo and his wife singing!

 

406838_10150516162338541_151998712_nThe dining area (Courtesy: Mahu Lodge Facebook page)

Pak Paul, Johan and the rest of Mahu Lodge crew mingled with us that evening. Finally at 11 pm we wrapped up the night with a very good memory. Pak Paul suggested us to have enough sleep as we will be transferred at 6 o’clock am the following morning, means the wake up call would be 5 o’clock am. We decided not stay up late, after packing our stuff, we tucked in our bed.

At 5 o’clock in the morning, we were awakened by a pleasant voice which I believe coming from the church nearby. We were called later for early breakfast at 5 o’clock and we were curious to know where the singing came from. We thought Pak Paul must have played a song from his audio speaker, however he said that the songs coming from the church which does it every morning. Lovely!

IMG_1066The tasty homemade bread and local coffee for breakfast

When the clock showed to 6 o’clock am Pak Paul called the driver who would transfer us to Haria harbor, we then bid good bye to him and his son and other staffs for their super kind hospitality. It was very sad though to leave this island as I understand that there are so many things that we haven’t explored and we felt our visit then was too short, even less than 24 hours. The journey to Haria harbor took for 30 minutes and once arrived we bought our ticket immediately and boarded the ship. The sky was looking very beautiful that morning, the sun had woken up from her sleep and ready to shine.

IMG_1069

Overall, my trip to Saparua had given such an extraordinary enlightening, not just how grateful I am for the chance to see God’s beautiful creatures but to meet so many blessed people who are willing to share that blessings to us. My last trip to the Moluccas provided a never ending story that I would share to my family, friends and colleagues. The experience was totally different than any other holidays I’ve had overseas, and I would surely come back and explore more islands in the Moluccas.

IMG_1077Mount Salahutu, Ambon

Visiting Ambon and Saparua has literally opened my eyes, that there are so many things in Indonesia are worth to explore. When you’re letting yourself to let go off your comfort zone and explore more complex situation from which you are used to, then you will be able to transform into a new person. Thank you for the hospitality Saparua. Like I’ve said before.. I’ll be back.

 

Thank you everyone!

 

 

Summary of our itinerary and how much we spent? This is based on 3 pax (excluding flight ticket)

Day 1 (29 March 2014):

Depart Jakarta GA 640 (00.30) Arrive Ambon (07.30 LT)

Liang Beach -> Ambon City Cathedral -> Lunch -> Latuhalat -> Lelisa Beach (Collin Beach) -> Natsepa (back to hotel)

Spending:

Car rental day 1: IDR 600.000,- (USD 57)

Gasoline: IDR 200.000,- (USD 18)

Foods: IDR 250.000,- (USD 20)

Day 2 (30 March 2014):

Breakfast 08.00 AM – 09.00AM Depart for Amsterdam Fort ->Immanuel Church -> Wapauwe Mosque -> Pasir Panjang Beach -> Lunch at Dede’s -> Petak 10 Souvenir Shop -> Australian Funeral Monument (Commonwealth War Grave Cemetery) -> Back to Natsepa

Car rental day 2: IDR 600.000,- (USD 57)

Lunch: IDR 275.000,- (USD 23)

Tourism site donations (3 places): IDR 150.000,- (USD 12)

Groceries (snacks, drinks, foods): IDR 230.000,- (USD 20)

Dinner (Room Service): IDR 170.000,- (USD 15)

Gasoline: IDR 100.000,- (USD 9)

Day 3 (31 March 2014):

Early transfer to Tulehu Harbor (STD 09.00 am/ STA 10.00 am) -> Saparua Island à Mahu Lodge Snorkling started at 12.00 PM followed by Lunch until 15.00 PM -> 16.00 PM Duurste Fort -> 18.00 PM Back to Mahu Lodge for Sunset.

Taxi to Tulehu Harbor: IDR 150.000,- (USD 12)

VIP speed boat ticket to Saparua: IDR 125.000,- (one-way) (USD 10) per pax x3= IDR 375.000,- (USD 32)

Transportation from Haria to Mahu Lodge (Pick-up by Hotel): IDR 150.000,- (USD 12)

Accommodation (Mahu Lodge) 1 room for 3 pax: IDR 400.000,- (including Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner) (USD 36)

Snorkeling: IDR 150.000,- (per pax) (USD 12)

Transportation (Car Rental) around Saparua: IDR 150.000,- (USD 12)

Tips for driver, keyboardist and singer: IDR 250.000,- (USD 20)

Day 4 ( 1 April 2014):

Early transfer to Ambon from Haria Harbor (STD 07.00 AM/ STA 08.00 AM) -> Ambon City -> Karang Panjang (Christina Tiahahu Monument) -> Ambon’s Siwa Lima Museum -> Transfer to Airport for 14.45 hrs LT departure to Jakarta (GA 647)

Transportation from Mahu Lodge to Haria Harbor (IDR 150.000,-) (USD 12)

Driver Tips: IDR 100.000,- (USD 9)

VIP speed boat ticket to Ambon (Tulehu) (IDR 125.000,-) (USD 10) per pax x3 =Rp. 375.000,- (USD 32)

Car rental day 3 (IDR 600.000,-) (USD 57)

Gasoline: IDR 100.000,- (USD 9)

Tips: IDR 200.000,- (USD 18)

Total: IDR 5.725.000,- (USD 

Natsepa Conference & Resort: IDR 820.000,-/ night x 3 = IDR 2.460.000,- (USD 213)

Total Expenses: IDR 8.185.000,- (USD 711)

Expense per person in total: IDR 2.728.333,- (USD 237)

If plus flight ticket: IDR 3.300.000,- (USD 286) per pax

Grand total expenses per person is: IDR 6.028.333,- (USD 524)

*The foreign exchange mentioned above is capped at 1 USD = IDR 11.500,-

**This budget is considered as a moderate budget travel / non backpacking or low cost budget, excluding shopping.

***You should spare IDR 1.200.000,- (USD 100) for emergency or shopping budget.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

